How I Stopped Overthinking Every Decision

How the 10–10–10 method helps you make faster decisions.

Benjamin Watkins
3 min readJan 25, 2023
Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

How much time do you spend overthinking every decision?

For example, I’m a classic overthinker. I used to overthink what to post on social media, what articles to write, and how to spend my time.

Endless information makes decision-making incredibly hard. The world gives you endless opportunities, and you feel pressured to make a single decision from a thousand choices.

For the longest time, I felt that pressure. The inaction of indecisions made me lethargic. I was overthinking everything. Until I changed my thinking. I changed my mindset.

I came up with something I like to call parallel action.

Parallel Action

What made you get up in the morning? What made you decide something in 5 seconds or less?

Whenever I’m stuck, I remind myself of 5 events in my life that I didn’t overthink.

  • I didn’t overthink getting married
  • I didn’t overthink going on a run
  • I didn’t overthink writing an article every day
  • I didn’t overthink posting on social media today
  • I didn’t overthink

--

--

Benjamin Watkins

Founder of ThisIsCopy.com | Health Tech Copywriter | Copywriting examples at https://laviebenrose.substack.com/. Dad of five adventurous kids..